Let it Marinate

I had the most delarcious salmon at my friend Helen’s house a few months ago. It was succulent, tasty and divine. She used this marinade which got into all the creases and crevices of the salmon and made every bite more enticing than the last.

My version, not so much.

I was hungry, irate and very bearily. Soooo I didn’t let it marinate. Bad bear, bad! It was still good, but not great. It was sub-par. I can do better and I WILL!

It was really easy and quick to prepare and cook, so next time I will just combine the ingredients the night before and then just add the fish in the morning and then cook it at night. Genius.

Tips:

1. Let it marinate, the longer the better.
2. Make sure you buy the right size salmon. I just picked the juiciest looking piece. Meanwhile, the recipe called for four 6 oz. pieces of salmon.
3. If you like more sauce, double the recipe. Go easy on the green onions though.  

Check it out 🙂 I just served it with white rice.

Bourbon-Glazed Salmon

from Esther Maples, Cooking Light

Ingredients

  • 3  tablespoons  brown sugar
  • 3  tablespoons  bourbon
  • 2  tablespoons  low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1  tablespoon  grated peeled fresh ginger
  • 1  tablespoon  fresh lime juice
  • 3  garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 4  (6-ounce) skinless salmon fillets
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/4  cup  thinly sliced green onions
  • 1  tablespoon  sesame seeds, toasted

Preparation

Combine first 7 ingredients in a large zip-top plastic bag. Add fish to bag; seal. Marinate in refrigerator 1 1/2 hours, turning occasionally.

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add fish and marinade to pan; cook fish 4 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until desired degree of doneness. Place 1 fillet on each of 4 plates; drizzle each serving with about 2 teaspoons sauce. Sprinkle each serving with 1 tablespoon green onions and 3/4 teaspoon sesame seeds.

Thank you to Angry Asian Creations for helping me edit this and many other photos. Your young grasshopper is learning.

