Bang! Penang!

I don’t watch Jersey Shore, so I don’t know all of the lingo. But while out at a bar, my friend James commented, “there’s alot of grenades out tonight!” I thought it a grenade was a good thing (like, she’s “the bomb”) and said, “I know, I’m a grenade, BANG!” (explosive hand gesture)

That’s how I feel about this Chicken Penang. It makes you say BAM! My sister-in-law Athena made this scrumptious Chicken Penang for her daughter Jocelyn’s birthday two years in a row, and both times my entire family was drooling. And it means alot when my Dad actually likes something new other than Red Lobster.

This recipe can be altered to suit mild palettes by adding more coconut milk, and can be kicked up a notch by adding more curry. BAM!

(I can’t stop saying it, and loudly).

I made it for a few friends and they loved it. I’m writing this before I actually made it, so I’m hoping they love it! And the verdict is….

Success!!! It was delicious! They went back for seconds 🙂

Chicken Penang

  • 1.5 – 2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breast (cut in paper thin slices)
  • 1 can Penang curry
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 4 – 5 can coconut milk (chef’s choice is what I use)
  • Brown sugar
  • Mushroom Soy sauce
  • Kaffir leaves (if available) sliced in thin strips
  • Red bell peppers
  • White jasmine rice

Slice all chicken & set aside. Warm oil in large pot, add curry (using 1/2 can will make it less spicy) & warm till u smell flavors (1-2 mins). Add chicken & stir just to get curry mixed onto chicken. Add 1-2 can(s) coconut milk (till chicken is just covered) cook on a medium boil, about 20 – 30 mins or until chicken is cooked. Add remaining cans of coconut milk (the more milk the less spicy), brown sugar (start w/a 1/2c) & mush soy sauce (start w/5-6 shakes) to taste. Remove from heat & add kaffir leaf strips. Slice red peppers and place on top of curry and rice. Serve over rice & enjoy!

