Oooh la lasagna

First – shoutout to my brother Jay on his birthday!! First subscriber to my blog, HAYO. or should I say JAYO?!

Yummers. Everytime my mom makes lasagna, the whole kitchen just fills up with warmth and delarciousness wafts through the house. However, when I made it, the house filled up with whining, stomping and general pouting.

lasagna. is. a. pain. to. make. UGH! Who knew? Holy 3 hours of unpaid labor, Batman. I was exhausted. But, it was worth it!

(Please read this section with an Italian accent complete with hand gestures. Thanks.)

First, you maka the meat sauce.

While you maka the meata sauce, you boil the pasta and you lay it in the pan.

It’sa coming along, yes? Then you makea the ricotta sauce.

Then you puta the ricotta on the pasta, then the mozzarella, then the meata. Keep layering until you reach the top.

Then you waita while it baka.

Why is the meat on top? I have no idea. My mom has been making it like this for years. When I first had lasagna at a restaurant, I thought it was weird that the cheese was on top. Oh, life lessons.

Meat on top Lasagna

Meata sauce

  • 1 lb. Italian sausage (or 3/4 lb. ground beef & 1/2 lb. Italian sausage)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tbs. whole basil
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1  – 1 lb. can diced tomatoes
  • 2 – 6 oz. can tomato paste

 Other stuff

  • 10 oz. lasagna noodles
  • 1/2 c. parmesan cheese
  • 2 tbl. parsley flakes
  • 3 beaten eggs
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1 lb. mozzarella cheese slices
  • 1 large tub of ricotta cheese

1. Brown meat slowly, spoon off excess fat. Add next 5 ingredients; simmer uncovered 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

2. Cook noodles until tender. Rinse and set aside.

3. Combine remaining ingredients except mozzarella cheese. Place in this order: noodles, ricotta mixture, mozzarella, then meat sauce until you run out of stuff.

Bake at 375 for 30 minutes.

