Lemon Merengue Pie

Ok, I gotta be honest. I’m not a huge fan of lemon meringue pie because it kinda looks like snot from a sinus infection. Sorry! Had to say it. You know you were thinking it too. But I wanted a fresh, light dessert to serve with my Oooh la lasagna and this was perfect. Pretty easy once you get past the jiggily, neon colored pudding. It reminded me of my Hypercolor shirt from back in the day.

When I sliced the pie, it jiggled and had a little merengue shake shake shake. This provided about 30 seconds of entertainment for me, and since I have the maturity level of a 5 year old, I giggled quite a bit.

So basically you just make a lemon pudding (follow the directions on the box), dump it into a pre-heated pie shell and then make a meringue for the topping.

The meringue is easy – just beat 3 egg whites, a little sugar and butta. A new trick I learned is to add a bit of cream of tartar to make the meringue stiff. So you CAN teach an old bear new tricks!

Oh and you put it in the oven for maybe 10 minutes to make the top crispy. Watch it closely because it goes from a pasty white to a Lindsay Lohan in about 5 minutes.

