Lemon Chess Tarts

Who missed me? Show of hands!

(crickets)

I hope you enjoyed my guest blogger last week. We had a grand time cooking together! Here’s what I posted on her blog last week. And no, I am not obsessed with lemon desserts. Ok maybe I am. They’re just so refreshing!

My grandma’s lemon chess pies were my FAVORITE dessert when I was growing up. As soon as I hugged her and let her pinch my cheeks, I would run to the kitchen and devour a lemon chess pie.

These little tarts are baked to a golden, crispity (crisp+buttery) brown. Mmm-mmmm! (shudder)

I loved these tarts so much, I ate about…….six……..in a day. Turns out, when you eat that much citrus, your body can’t handle all of the acid. Sooooo I broke out in an intense skin rash and felt like my body had sunburn from the inside out. I was freaking out and had to confess that I had eaten six lemon tarts. Did I mention it was August in North Carolina? Yeah….no bueno. My mom had to sit me in a cold bath until I cooled down.

What did I learn? Absolutely nothing. I was back to eating lemon tarts the next day.

I made these lemon chess pies for Lan and a few friends. It was like a trip down memory lane….without the unattractive hives.

Grandma – I miss you but your legacy lives on 🙂

Lemon Chess Tarts

  • 4 lemons
  • 1 stick margarine
  • 2.5 cups sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 16 tart shells
Lightly beat eggs, add sugar and beat lightly. Add 1 stick of melted margarine. Add juice of lemons and stir. Add grated rind of about 2 lemons and a pinch of salt. Pour into shells and bake 30-35 minute at 350F.
