Sweet Potato Delight

This sweet potato delight is one of my favorite Thanksgiving and Christmas dishes. Mmmm-mmm! The toasty marshmallows make this a sweet dish that pairs perfectly with a nice piece of salty ham. Hypertension, yummm.

Is this from Christmas dinner? Yes.

Did I forget to post this 2 months ago? Yes.

Is it still delarcious? Double yes.

My Dad’s first cousin Bettye tried to give me this recipe during Thanksgiving. It went a little something like this:

Bettye: so you just beat the sweet potatoes, then mix in about a cup of sugar (pours sugar directly from the bag into potatoes) and a little of this and that (throws in spices) and you’re done!

me: no measurements?!?!?!

She did give me some guidance on measurements, but like most good cooks, she just ‘throws it together.’ Which is difficult for a novice like myself because when I throw things together… it’s a recipe for disaster.

I ended up taking notes and then found this recipe online – which is pretty close to her recipe.

Sweet Potato Delight

  • 8 average size sweet potatoes
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla
  • 3-5 tbsp. sugar (to taste)
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon to taste
  • 1/4 – 1 tsp. nutmeg to taste
  • 1/4 c. orange juice to taste
  • Marshmallows (large)
  • Cinnamon sugar (opt.)

Boil (or bake) sweet potatoes until done. Remove peeling from HOT POTATOES and mash well, removing all strings. Add all ingredients but marshmallows and cinnamon sugar; mix well. Spray or grease lightly Pyrex or Corning dish. Put a layer of potatoes, layer of marshmallows until filled. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar for added flavor. Bake about 350 degrees until HOT. Remove from oven and put marshmallows on top. Place again in oven to brown lightly. Serves 10 to 12.

Careful with the mallows – as I mentioned in my Lemon Merengue post, it can go from a pasty white to a Lindsay Fauxtan Lohan very quickly.

