Squarsh Souffle

I say ‘squarsh’ because my mom tends to add an ‘r’ after anything with a ‘qu.’ Meanwhile, both squish and squash become “squarsh.”

I know what you’re thinking – squash souffle?? really? It’s fluffy, light, sweet and hearty all at the same time. Kinda like me.

My friend Jean, the food genius, gave me this recipe*. She makes the most incredible things I’ve ever eaten. (Hopefully, she doesn’t start a blog, cause all of my 14 readers would leave me).

This is a great accent to any main meat dish – I’ve served it with ham, pork and chicken. It kinda tastes like my Sweet Potato Delight. What can I say – the bear’s got a sweet tooth. Hey-hey-boo-boo

I had to tempur the eggs just a bit so they wouldn’t actually cook in the mixture. But this was super easy. The cinnamon adds a nice touch. Enjoy!

Squarsh Souffle

  • 1 10 oz pkg frozen cooked squash
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup cake meal (for Passover) or 1/2 cup cake flour
  • 2 cups non-dairy creamer–Farm Rich fat free
  • 1/2 stick margarine

Defrost squash over low heat
Add margarine and melt
Beat eggs, sugar, cake meal and add to squash
Add creamer
Pour into 1 1/2 quart pan
Sprinkle with cinnamon or add to mixture
Bake 1 hour @350, for double bake (1 hour and 15 minutes)


* Note: This recipe is from a friend’s family friend.
