Apple Quinoa Delight

Has the bear been hibernating in this hot weather? Something like that. I’ve been slacking…bigtime…but I promise to step it up! Who missed me?

I was at a conference in San Fran and this caterer had this delicious, refreshing salad made with this cool grain called quinoa. I am slightly obsessed because it’s healthy and fulfilling and gluten free. Who cares about gluten? I don’t, but it sounds fancy. This is one of those times when someone tells you “oh I just threw this together, it’s a little of this and that” and when you make it, it’s gross.  Actually, my version was pretty close!

The orange vinaigrette dressing was a bit difficult to make. I googled the recipe but still didn’t get it quite right. If you find a good recipe for it, please let me know! Also, if you can buy orange vinaigrette dressing in the store, go for it!

Oh and a little sprout goes a long way.

This is part of my “Summer Salad Series.” And by series, I mean this might be the end of the series until I come up with something else.

Apple Quinoa Delight

Ingredients

  • 1 granny smith apple, chopped
  • 1 fuji apple, chopped
  • handful of sprouts
  • 1/2 cup Crasins, to taste
  • orange vinaigrette dressing

Directions

1. Cook the quinoa on the stovetop, then cool and set aside. Don’t add it to the fruit until it’s completely cooled.

2. Chop the apples. Set aside.

3. Mix the quinoa and apples. Then add the Craisins and sprouts. Add the dressing last because it gets soggy.

4. If you want the salad to last longer, just add the sprouts and dressing to the servings you want to eat immediately.

