Party of 5

I know you’re thinking of that mid-90’s show. Oh, Scott Wolf.

But this was a dinner I cooked for my friends as a thank you for walking my dog Bailey. A FANCY dinner. With CHINA. aww snap. I felt like I was playing dress-up with my mamma’s china (don’t worry..she won’t read this, she still doesn’t ‘get’ what a blog is).

Funny thing about having a dinner party…you have to do all . the. work. Which is what I wanted but it was exhausting.

I’ll give you a teaser, this week I’ll feature the drunken noodles and next week I’ll show the Asian salad, banana puddin and Southern sweet tea, OH MY!

My sister-in-law gave me this recipe (she also gave me the Chicken Penang recipe). She uses penne pasta but I decided to try the wide rice noodles. The photo shown is without any meat, but I made a second batch tonight with shrimp – it was the bommmb diggity! I must be trapped in the mid-90’s tonight.

Not bad, eh?

(So now I’m a Canadian, stuck in the mid-90’s.)

Some tips:

  • the red peppers are HOT. HOT. Please use gloves while handling.
  • Add more soy sauce and brown sugar to taste. Gotta get these noodles ‘drunk’ after all, roighto?
  • Serve immediately. For some reason the noodles get cold really fast.
Drunken Noodles
  • Boneless, skinless chicken breast cut in thin slices – about 1 lb
  • Penne noodles (or thick flat rice noodles but penne is easier) – 1 lb box
  • Minced garlic – 2 or 3 cloves (depends how much u like garlic)
  • 1 onion – cut in strips (u know like in wedges w/the ridges in the onion)
  • Thai Basil – 1 handful-ish (but add a little at 1st (5-6 leaves) & taste when mixed)
  • Red Thai peppers – 2 or 3 (chop using glove or wash hands thoroughly & don’t touch eyes all night)
  • Brown sugar – about 1/4 c (but its to taste so u may need more)
  • Mushroom soy sauce – a few shakes
  • Canola Oil (or veggie) – 2Tbsp 


Boil noodles in salted water. Drain. Heat oil in large frying pan or wok. Add chicken cook 3-5 mins, add onions & garlic & cook on med-high heat till chicken is cooked thru. Add peppers, brown sugar, & soy sauce & mix until coated & peppers look slightly cooked. Add noodles & basil. Mix well. Taste. Add more brown sugar/soy sauce/basil till u get taste just right. (Not too sweet, not too salty, not too much basil)

