1 Year Blog-aversary!

It’s my 1 year blog-aversary (blog anniversary)!! It’s been a long year and I’m glad I was able to post something almost every week except the last two months/hibernation. I started out alternating between cooking and crafting buuuuuut since I like to eat so much it ended up being mostly about cooking. Big surprise.

My favorite and most popular posts were:

So what’s next? I plan to keep on posting my experiences cooking and crafting. Do I really know what I’m doing most of the time? No. But it’s funny to watch me try.

Generally speaking, I try to cook impressive dishes that don’t require much effort. I’m just being honest. This dish totes mcgoates falls into that category.

You’re thinking barbeque shrimp has actual BBQ sauce in it? Oh no, my friend. A traditional New Orleans (N’Awlins) barbeque shrimp has spices and a ton of butter.

Mmmmmm. It’s okay to drool.Note: I recommend peeling the skrimps (yes I said it) the night before you plan to serve this dish. It saves a boatload of time. That and after peeling shrimp I don’t really have the appetite to eat them since they kinda look like the insides of the alien from Independence Day.Yet again, I digress.


New Orleans Barbeque Shrimp

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/3 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup beer, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 pound medium shrimp – peeled and deveined
  • salt to taste

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, stir together the garlic powder, onion powder, basil, thyme, rosemary, cayenne pepper and paprika. Set aside.
  2. Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic; cook and stir until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the shrimp and cook for a couple of minutes. Season with the spice mixture and continue to cook and stir for a few minutes. Pour in the beer and Worcestershire sauce; simmer until shrimp is cooked through, about 1 more minute. Taste and season with salt before serving.
Sidenote: I cannot say Worcestershire. It comes out like “wor-chhhhh-ter-xire.”
Serve with linguine. My friend Jen had a great idea to mix a bit of the sauce with the pasta so it wouldn’t stick together. It also added some color and flava!This past year, I realized that what I enjoy most about cooking (other than eating) is actually entertaining. I invited my girls over to celebrate on a random Wednesday night and we had a great time. Thanks to my girls for supporting me!!Notice the hand in the far left – someone was hongrey!

Stay tuned for another year of bearily posts. đŸ™‚

Special thanks to Rosa Thomas for taking this week’s photos! 
And a very, very special shoutout to Angry Asian Creations for inspiring and encouraging me with this blog!
